To access California Divorce Records, request them at the county Superior Court where they are filed. The Superior courts are also the ones assigned to hand out certified copies of the files to the people who ask for them. The files are taken care of by the Office of Vital Statistics of the California Department of Health. Only divorce files from 1962 to 1984 are available at the office.
You can make a request by heading to the Superior Courts, or by mail. It costs $13 per certified copy which can be paid through money order or by check. They can also be faxed if you wish to for an extra fee of $7. Providing basic information of the couple like names, date of birth, county and date of the occurrence of the divorce, will get your search underway. If you are unsure of the date of the divorce, indicate possible years where it might have transpired.
Fill out an application for the request. Attach a sworn statement, signed by you, together with the form. If you are requesting for the files by mail then get the sworn statement notarized. Failure to provide a sworn statement means rejection of your request with no refunds.
Divorce Decrees Public Record are considered as public records under the definition of the Freedom of Information Act. The files can be utilized for financial to personal purposes. They are restricted only to those names found in the files, legal delegates, or any person or agency authorized by the law. The records are allowed to be sealed if the couple wishes to do so. This is usually done to preserve their right to privacy.
Divorce files filed in a particular state are accepted in all the other states. A minimum residency time is required to qualify for filing a divorce. Legal issues such as child support guidelines, child support distribution, alimony deductions, health insurance, assets division, and many others need to be settled before a divorce decree is granted.
Public divorce records takes awhile to be obtained at government offices because they have to through standard procedures. Normally it takes 15 to 20 weeks to process California divorce records. If you need the files as soon as possible, then turn to record keepers found online. Although they cost a bit more than in government offices, they can spare you a significant amount of time. You can opt to go for free-of-charge or the fee-based record keepers. Fee-based keepers is a wiser option because they offer a more understandable and comprehensive quality of the files. This is because they access both public and private resources so they can collect more important data to include in the files.